I have a dear friend who lives in New Mexico. She is a mother, Grandmother, and a Folk Artist. Raising her family was her biggest love. Now that they are grown, she is able to give her energy to her Art. Each year on special holidays I receive a card she has sent wishing good things. For several years I have had various cards that feature the Church from  her childhood. Most of her cards are depicting memories from then. This year when I received the card. I decided to copy and send her a little quilt.

These two are some of the drawings she has sent. One I have framed.

celia-church.jpgI tried to find a method to depict her wonderful work. So using scraps from my stash. I did a white colored Church on a blue background. The golden light from within shining out on the plaza. The church is lined with paper lanterns. Several catus  are in the area. I hope I have taken the drawing into the quilt.church-quilt.jpg

